The candidates for The Best FIFA Football Awards 2018

For the first time in 11 years, Argentina Captain, Lionel Messi is not among the three players shortlisted by FIFA for the Best Football Awards. Rather, Cristiano Ronaldo, Mohammed Salah and winner of the UEFA Awards, Luka Modric have been listed as the final contestants for the awards, which is presented to the best footballer of the last season.

The finalists for this year’s world football’s premium awards event also include Brazil’s Marta, Zinédine Zidane, Asako Takakura and Hugo Lloris, amongst the nominees.

The Best FIFA Men’s Player
Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Juventus FC, formerly Real Madrid CF); Luka Modrić (Croatia/Real Madrid CF); and Mohamed Salah (Egypt/Liverpool FC).

The Best FIFA Women’s Player
Ada Hegerberg (Norway/Olympique Lyonnais); Dzsenifer Marozsán (Germany/Olympique Lyonnais); and Marta (Brazil/Orlando Pride).

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach
Zlatko Dalić (Croatia/Croatia national team); Didier Deschamps (France/France national team); and Zinédine Zidane (France/formerly Real Madrid CF).

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach
Reynald Pedros (France/Olympique Lyonnais); Asako Takakura (Japan/Japan national team); and Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands/Netherlands national team).

The Best FIFA Goalkeeper
Thibaut Courtois (Belgium/Real Madrid CF, formerly Chelsea FC); Hugo Lloris (France/Tottenham Hotspur FC); and Kasper Schmeichel (Denmark/Leicester City FC).

FIFA Puskás Award
Gareth Bale (Real Madrid CF); Denis Cheryshev (Russia); Lazaros Christodoulopoulos (AEK FC); Giorgian De Arrascaeta (Cruzeiro); Riley McGree (Newcastle Jets FC); Lionel Messi (Argentina); Benjamin Pavard (France); Ricardo Quaresma (Portugal); Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid CF); and Mohamed Salah (Liverpool FC).

FIFA Fan Award
Sebastián Carrera (Deportes Puerto Montt, Chile); Peru fans, Japan and Senegal fans.

More from

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

WhatsApp chat