Akwa United edge Tornadoes 3-2 to win AITEO Cup

By Augustine Akhilomen

Akwa United were crowned champions of the inaugural AITEO Cup on Sunday after defeating Niger Tornadoes 3-2 via penalty shootouts at the Agege Stadium.

The encounter which saw both teams trying to play cautious football failed to produce a goal at both halves of despite creating few goal scoring chances.

However, Gabriel Okechukwu scored the last kick of the shootout after the regulation time ended goalless, to help Akwa United qualify for the 2018 CAF Confederation Cup alongside Enyimba.

Besides, Akwa , who won the tournament in 2015, grabbed N25 m for their efforts while Tornadoes went home with N10 m.

More from

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.