Mikel Out as Rohr names 24 players for Seychelles clash

Super Eagles Technical Adviser, Gernot Rohr has left out team captain, Mikel Obi from the 24-man list that will face Seychelles in Victoria in 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier on September 7.

Some of the regulars who made the squad are Leon Balogun, William Troost-Ekong, Ahmed Musa, Kelechi Iheanacho, Alex Iwobi, Odion Ighalo, Ogenyi Onazi, and to mention a few.

Interestingly, Rohr invited four new players to the team which include Rotherham United defender Semi Ajayi alongside 24-year-old SC Paderborn (German second-tier side) left-back Jamilu Collins, new Bordeaux winger Samuel Kalu and Porto B loanee Kelechi Nwakali on his 24-man main squad.

Full list

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Elche, Spain), Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba, Nigeria), Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa)

Defenders: Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England), William Troost-Ekong (Udinese, Italy), Kenneth Omeruo (Leganes, Spain), Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto, Portugal), Semi Ajayi (Rotherham, England), Ola Aina (Torino, Italy), Brian Idowu (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia), Jamilu Collins (SC Paderborn 07, Germany)

Midfielders: Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor, Turkey), Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England), Joel Obi (Chievo Verona, Italy), John Ogu (Hapoel Beer Sheva, Italy), Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City, England), Kelechi Nwakali (FC Porto B, Portugal)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al-Nassr, Saudi Arabia), Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai, China), Simeon Nwankwo (Crotone, Italy), Alex Iwobi (Arsenal, England), Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray, Turkey), Samuel Kalu (Bordeaux, France), Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England)

Stand-by list: Uche Abo (Standard Liege, Belgium), Stephen Eze (Lokomotiv Plovdiv, Bulgaria), Musa Muhammed (HNK Gorica, Croatia), Blessing Eleke (FC Luzern, Switzerland)

More from

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

WhatsApp chat