24 Super Eagles Players Named By Rohr To Face Algeria, Argentina

By Augustine Akhilomen

Super Eagles Technical Adviser, Gernot Rohr has named a 24-man squad that will face Algeria in a dead-rubber 2018 World Cup qualifier and also Argentina in an international friendly encounter.

Having qualified for the mundial, the team will use the Algeria game to test fresh players on November 10 in Algiers while the team confront Argentina in Russia four days later.

Goalkeepers Ikechukwu Ezenwa and Daniel Akpeyi also made the cut as well as defenders Abdullahi Shehu, Leon Balogun and William Ekong, midfielders Wilfred Ndidi and Oghenekaro Etebo and forwards, Kelechi Iheanacho, Alex Iwobi and Odion Ighalo.

There is a first call for impressive Deportivo La Coruna goalkeeper Francis Uzoho as well as former U17 World Cup winner Chidiebere Nwakali.

Russia-based Brian Idowu has been placed on standby only for the friendly with Argentina. 2013 Afcon winner Kenneth Omeruo is on standby for both matches alongside former junior international Alhassan Ibrahim, who now plays in Austria.

All invited players are expected to arrive in a camp in Morocco on Monday, November 6, before the delegation flies to Constantine on Thursday,
November 9.

On Saturday, November 11, a 45-seater chartered aircraft will fly the Super Eagles from Constantine to Krasnodar, the Russian city that will host the international friendly against Argentina on Tuesday, November 14.


Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa), Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC IfeanyiUbah), Francis Uzoho (Deportivo La Coruna, Spain)

Defenders: William Ekong (Bursaspor FC, Turkey), Abdullahi Shehu (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus), Tyronne Ebuehi (ADO Den Haag, The Netherlands), Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany), Uche Agbo (Standard Liege, Belgium), Chidozie Awaziem (Nantes FC, France), Olaoluwa Aina (Hull City, England)

Midfielders: Mikel John Obi (Tianjin Teda, China), Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey), Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England), Oghenekaro Etebo (CD Feirense, Portugal), John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel), Mikel Agu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey), Chidiebere Nwakali (Sogndal FC, Norway)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Leicester City, England), Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England), Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium), Alex Iwobi
(Arsenal FC, England), Odion Ighalo (Chang Chun-Yatai, China), Henry Onyekuru (RSC Anderlecht, Belgium), Anthony Nwakaeme (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)

Standby: Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa FC, Turkey); Alhassan Ibrahim (FK Austria Wien, Austria); Brian Idowu (FC Amkar Perm, Russia)

More from

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.