Rio 2016 Olympics: Dream Team VI drawn with Japan, Sweden, Colombia

African champions, the Dream Team, has been drawn in the group stage against continental champions, Sweden and Japan.
The Samson Siasia lead team will also battle Colombia in the group.
Sweden are the European tournament winners, while Japan won the Asian version of the qualifiers.
Colombia beat USA in an intercontinental playoff to qualify for Rio.
Sweden won last year’s European U21 Championship in the Czech Republic after they defeated Portugal on penalties.
This was after a goalless draw in the final.
They won the 1948 Olympics Gold.
Rio will be Japan’s 10th appearance at the Olympics, the best record in Asia along Korea Republic, who Japan incidentally beat 3-2 in the continental final of the qualifiers.
The men’s football event of the Rio Olympics will be from August 4 to 20.
Nigeria won a historic Olympic Gold in 1996 and were beaten by Argentina in the Gold medal match at Beijing 2008.

More from

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.